Pranab congrats CWG wwinners

Indian President Pranab Mukherjee Saturday congratulated sportspersons for winning medals at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

President Pranab Mukherjee
President Pranab Mukherjee

The president congratulated Yogeshwar Dutt, Babita Kumari, Vikas Gowda, Geetika Jakhar, Dipa Karmakar and Pawan Kumar for winning medals at the 20th Commonwealth Games in their respective disciplines and gave his “best wishes for future success”.

In separate letters, Mukherjee said: “Your achievement is an example of what can be accomplished through hard work and dedication.”

“You have made all Indians proud and proved that hard work always bring laurels. I wish you the very best for all future endeavours,” the letter said.

Yogeshwar Dutt (men’s freestyle 65 kg) and Babita Kumari (women’s freestyle 55 kg) won gold medals, while Geetika Jhakar (women’s freestyle 63 kg) won a silver, and Pawan Kumar (men’s freestyle 86 kg) won a bronze medal on the wrestling mat for India.

Discus thrower Vikas Gowda broke a 56-year jinx by winning gold medal with a best throw of 63.64 metres.

Dipa Karmarkar scripted history by becoming the first Indian woman gymnast to win a medal at the Commonwealth Games by bagging a bronze in the vault event.