Asian Lite among short-listed for top awards

Asian Lite among leading media titles were short-listed for the 2014 Asian Media Awards.  The finalists were announced at an event held at ITV, The London Studios.

The prestigious event is aiming to reward those working in journalism, television, radio, marketing and PR.   The Asian Media Awards take place at the Hilton Deansgate Manchester on 28 October 2014.

The event sponsored by Asons Solicitors and the University of Salford was attended by invited finalists, partners and special guests. Keynote speakers on the night were Yasmin Alibhai-Brown of the Independent and Asif Zubairy, ITV’s Commissioning Editor for Entertainment.

The 2014 Journalist of the Year category features some of the leading media professionals from across the UK. The category is made up of reporters from Sky News, The Evening Standard and the Mail on Sunday. MediaCom and Press Association Training are supporting the event with judging panel members from Al-Jazeerah English and Blue Rubicon among others.

Yasmin Alibhai-Brown
Yasmin Alibhai-Brown

Investigations into child trafficking (Ross Kemp: Extreme World), the plight of asylum seekers (BBC Asian Network) and childless couples (BBC Radio 4) make up the list in this year’s Asian Media Awards Best Investigation category.

A special feature into the lives of first generation immigrants is also included in the list this year as is Robb Leech’s eye-opening film ‘My Brother The Terrorist.’

Soap stars, Jimi Mistry, Nitin Ganatra and Chris Bisson are joined by Sunetra Sarker who plays Dr Zoe Hanna on Casualty in the Best TV Character award.


Keith Vaz MP

In the radio sections the BBC Asian Network again led with a number of nominations. However, there was a focus on smaller regional radio stations going above and beyond the communities they serve. Both Awaz FM Glasgow and Sabras Radio of Leicester were named in the Regional Radio Station of the Year award alongside Sunrise Yorkshire and Asian Star Radio of Slough.

Sunrise London which is looking to re-invent itself after an uncertain year is also named in the Radio Station of the Year category.

The London Indian Film Festival is included in the Best Live Event category. Two plays which aim to challenge controversial subject matters are also included. The first of which is ‘Nirbhaya’ a stage production by Ensemble. The second is ‘States of Verbal Undress’ by Manchester based RASA. The play is written by Rani Moorthy.

The highly contested Media Agency of the Year award features five of the UK’s leading PR and media agencies. 2013 winners Media Moguls are again nominated alongside Mediareach who were also shortlisted last year.

New on the list this year are Curzon PR, Spritz Creative and Here&Now365.

Four of the most innovative Asian news, entertainment and music websites are featured in our Best Website category this year. The list includes,, and

The Best Blog and Commentary category rewards four sites each catering for a range of readers. Look! A aims to celebrate Sikhs in the media. includes articles to showcase creative work by South Asians. The is a fashion and style blog and columnist Priya Mulji’s Blog explores issues relating to love, dating, relationships and lifestyle.


The Full Shortlist (Alphabetical Order):

Journalist of the Year

Anushka Asthana (Sky News)

Shekhar Bhatia (Evening Standard)

Sangita Myska (BBC Radio 4)

Asjad Nazir (Eastern Eye)

Catrin Nye (BBC Asian Network)

Abul Taher (Mail on Sunday)

Best Investigation

A Family Without A Child (BBC Radio 4)

My Brother The Terrorist (Grace Productions)

Ross Kemp: Extreme World India (Freshwater Films for Sky 1)

The Detained (BBC Asian Network)

Three Pounds In My Pocket (BBC Radio 4)

Outstanding Young Journalist

Anila Dhami

Layla Haidrani

Harpreet Kaur

Rahil Sheikh

TV Report of the Year

100 Years of Bollywood (ITV Central)

Sons of Empire: First World War Commemoration (ITV Meridian)

Why Muslim Women Choose To Wear The Veil (Channel 4)

Publication of the Year

Asian Lite

Asian Today

Asian Wealth

Asian World

Eastern Eye

Best Blog & Commentary

Look! A Singh!

Priya Mulji’s Blog

Best Website

Best TV Character

Chris Bisson (Jai Sharma, Emmerdale)

Nitin Ganatra (Masood Ahmed, Eastenders)

Jimy Mistry (Khalid Nazir, Coronation Street)

Sunetra Sarker (Dr Zoe Hanna, Casualty)

Best TV Show

Brits Bollywood (ZING)

Broken Silence (Brit Asia TV)

Burka Avenger (Various)

TV Channel of the Year



Star Plus

Zee TV

Radio Station of the Year

Asian Star 101.6fm

BBC Asian Network

Sunrise London

Regional Radio Station of the Year

AwazFM Glasgow

Asian Star 101.6fm

Sabras Radio

Sunrise Yorkshire

Best Radio Show

Bobby Friction  (BBC Asian Network)

Andy Gill  (Sunrise London)

Tommy Sandhu (BBC Asian Network)

Sunny and Shay (BBC London)

Radio Presenter of the Year

Anita Anand

DJ Neev


Noreen Khan

Media Agency of the Year

Curzon PR


Media Moguls

Media Reach

Spritz Creative

Media Professional of the Year

Farzana Baduel

Tony Gill

Natasha Mudhar

Nisha Sahdev

Best Live Event

London Indian Film Festival

Nirbhaya (Ensemble)

Paul Chowdhry ‘PC’s Worlds’

States of Verbal Undress (RASA)

Individual Categorioes

Best Video Channel

Best Social and Charitable Campaign

The Sophiya Haque Services to British Television

Media Personality of the Year

Outstanding Contribution to Media

The Asian Media Awards 2014 is supported by Asons Solicitors, University of Salford, Hilton Hotels,  Manchester Metropolitan University, Routes into Languages, ITV, Mediacom, Press Association Training, Supreme Dream, Cleartwo, Karma Foods, AMT Lawyers & Studio 4 Photography.

For more information about the Asian Media Awards please see